Home » News » News » Awards for scholarly achievements in archaeological research
Awards for scholarly achievements in archaeological research

The annual awards presented by the Ministry of Culture for scholarly achievements of archaeological research representing a significant contribution to the development of the archaeological scholarship and promotion of the cultural heritage of our country were bestowed for a fourth consecutive year.

Committee chaired by Dr. Lyudmil Vagalinski, Director of the National Archaeological Institute with Museum and members:

  1. Prof. Dr. Bozhidar Dimitrov, Director of the National Museum of History
  2. Prof. Dr Totko Stoyanov, "St. Kliment Ohridski" Sofia University and Chairman of the Association of the Bulgarian archaeologists
  3. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Georgi Nehrizov, NAIM-BAS and national coordinator of AIS "AKB"
  4. Rumen Mikov, National Institute of Immovable Cultural Heritage (NIICH), chief expert
  5. Dr. Borislav Borislavov, Chief assistant, advisor to the Minister of Culture, Ministry of Culture

voted unanimously to award the following archaeologists for their professionalism:

  1. Prof. Dr. Alexandra Milcheva for overall contribution to the archaeological scholarship;
  2. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ivan Hristov (National Museum of History) for the field study of archaeological sites Kozi Gramadi and Akra, the implemented conservation and restoration of Akra and the released scholarly publications;
  3. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Kristina Panayotova (NAIM-BAS) for the field study of the ancient necropolis of Apollonia Pontica, the fulfillment of the site’s restoration, the field study of the island of St. Kirik and Urdoviza (present-day Kiten);
  4. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Boni Petrunova (NAIM-BAS) for the field study of the following archaeological sites: Peristera fortress, Kaliakra fortress and Urvich fortress, the fulfillment of the sites’ conservation and restoration as well as the scholarly publications on them;
  5. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Milena Tonkova (NAIM-BAS) for organizing the International scholars conference dedicated to "30 years Department of Thracian archaeology at NAIM-BAS" and the field study of the archaeological site Halka Bunar, Chirpan Municipality;
  6. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Valeri Yotov (RIM-Varna) and Alexander Minchev (RIM-Varna) for the field study of the late antique fortress at St. Atanas cape and the released scholarly publication on the site;
  7. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Petya Georgieva ("St. Kliment Ohridski" Sofia University) for the field study of Kozareva mound, Pomorie Municipality and a scholarly monograph published.
The awards were presented at the 53rd National Archaeological Conference in the city of Sandanski by the Deputy Minister of Culture Mrs. Velislava Krаsteva.

Годишник на Националния археологически музей